The end of the rest week

Yesterday I got a Garmin Forerunner 50 for my birthday, and I’m pleased with it.  I’d been debating for a while what kind of device I wanted for keeping track of my running — one of the GPS devices sounded cool, but I think they offer more than I really need and are more expensive than I liked; the Forerunner is perfect because it’s simple but gives me the basic information I want.  I tested it out on my loop through town and it was pretty far off uncalibrated; it thought I was covering a lot more distance than I really was.  So I got the bike out and rode a half mile and then ran it to get the calibration right, although I’d like to use the local High School track to make sure it’s as accurate as possible.  I like the way it tells me the number of steps I’ve run as well as average cadence.  The associated website is a little strange, though; I’ve had some trouble getting it working, and now their Garmin Connect site seems to be down entirely.  But I’ll get that worked out…

Today I walked in the woods and did yoga, and that’s it.  I’ll be back on the bike tomorrow, ready to work hard.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

