Group ride with rabbit

On Thursday I set out with three other people for what was to be a long ride, something in the neighborhood of 4 or 5 hours.  I’m always nervous about group rides, especially long ones, as I’m afraid of being the slowest in the group and holding everyone up.  But this group seems fairly well-matched, and it was clear we weren’t out to race each other.  We were going to head north, up into beautiful Litchfield county, along roads I wasn’t entirely familiar with, so I was excited about learning a new route.  About 50 minutes into the ride, though, a rabbit decided to cross the road just when we were riding by, and it ran directly into one woman’s wheel, taking her down.  We were all terrified.  She lay on the road for a while, mumbling something about her hip, and I was about ready to suggest we call an ambulance when she started to get up.

After a few minutes of standing around, she said she felt fine, and so we rode on, impressed at her courage.  I would probably have requested that someone go get a car to drive me home.  We rode on for another 45 minutes or so until the woman decided it was best to head back home, and so we did.  We were out for more than 2 1/2 hours total, a full hour and a half after the accident.  It turns out the woman had a mild concussion and cracked her helmet in half a dozen places.  She said it was the adrenaline that allowed her to get up and keep riding.

Thank God for helmets, right?

2 comments so far

  1. Leah on

    Scary. I wrecked a few years ago on a small group ride. It was a stupid crash (I was going 3 miles an hour) but I also wound up with a concussion and broke my helmet. Yes, thank god for helmets. And thank god for groups! I would hate to be alone lying in the middle of the road.

  2. Dorothy W. on

    Oh, no fun! Even stupid crashes can be dangerous — all my crashes so far have been stupid ones, actually, things like not watching where I’m going and riding off the road.


Leave a Reply

