I had a good (short) run this morning and an hour-long ride this afternoon; I wasn’t sure about whether to ride as I’ve been feeling a little draggy, but the weather was too nice to resist.  I noticed yesterday that I had some slightly sore back muscles from two long swim workouts — this means, I think, both that I was working hard and that I need to do some core strength training.  This is the first time I’ve swum hard enough to feel it afterwards.  It’s nice that with swimming I don’t have to worry about doing too much at once in quite the same way I have to worry about it with running.  Already I can swim an hour with no danger of hurting myself.  I wish building up running endurance were that easy!

2 comments so far

  1. Leah on

    Glad to hear the swimming is going well. I hear you about building running fitness! Best to go slow on that.

  2. Dorothy W. on

    Oh, yeah, I’m going VERY slow … obsessively slow! Better that than injury …


Leave a Reply

