Rest week

This is a rest and recovery week after last week’s craziness (I ended up doing 10 1/2 hours instead of the 10 I planned).  I plan on training about 5 1/2 hours this week, although I have a group bike ride this weekend and don’t know what that will be like.  Monday was entirely off, yesterday was running and swimming, and today is riding and swimming.  Tomorrow will be off and the weekend will be pretty light.

Swimming was great yesterday; we did something like this (all free):

500  warm-up

8×50 kick and pull, alternating

8×25 catch-up and reach drills, alternating

4×100 on 2:15 (which I could barely do — I’d finish around 2:00 or 2:05 and barely catch my breath before starting again)

8×50 on 1:15 (it was supposed to be 1:05, but I couldn’t quite manage that, partly because I was getting tired)

4×25 on :30 (I did it on :35 or so, again, too tired)

250 cool down

2250 total in about an hour, my longest swim yet.

2 comments so far

  1. sarah a on

    You are good about sticking to your training plan…I should learn from you and try to follow a plan 😉 The weather has been so good lately that I feel I have to ride as much as possible to make the most of it! And, I have a new ride buddy, so that’s been added inspiration to ride a lot. It’s fun to read about your swimming and running too, even if I haven’t gotten quite motivated enough to try it personally!!

  2. Leah on

    Those are some long swims! Sounds like you’re taking to it like a, well, you know…


Leave a Reply

