I went on a ride today with friends — some of whom race and some of whom ride only occasionally.  It was a great ride because we stayed together the whole time, all the racers taking it easy and letting the occasional riders set the pace.  It was a true zone 1 ride for me, which hardly ever happens unless I’m on a trainer (which hardly ever happens).  The hills around my house send my heart rate skyrocketing and make a real recovery ride almost impossible.  But today we were riding in a relatively flat area near the Hudson river, and my HR only occasionally went up into the 140s.

It was a good rest week (5.5 hours or so, with 1.5 of them being very easy), and I’m now ready to work a little harder.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

